Festival 2009

The 2009 festival took place on Mill Lane in the heart of the University district and in sight of the River Cam and comprised a programme of more than 98 short films from around the world shown over four days!

With more than 60 World, International, European and UK Premieres, our competition and panorama programmes showed the best films originated on the brilliant Super 8 format.

More than 25 filmmakers from across Europe joined the festival for a great four days of networking and films.

Highlights include:

Winners of the 2009 festival

Poster festival 2009

Jury Prize
→ Brick Lane Memory (Jason Edwards, UK)
Audience Prize
→ The Penalty Box (Arthur Franck & Oskar Forsten, Finland)
Best UK Film
→ Code Grey (Rob Wickings, UK)
Development Prize
→ Moving On (Erin Celeste Weisgerber, Canada)
Best Cinematography
→ Rainy Day (Andres Victorero Rey, Spain)
Best Sound
→ Who’s Afraid of Ghosts (Amson Mak, Hong Kong)

3 special mentions were also given for:

  • The Time Machine (Paul Stevenson, UK)
  • The Golden Beach (Miklos Csoka, Hungary)
  • Dir Schneider Krankheit (Javier Chillon, Spain)

You can consult our 2009 festival blog for more details.

Download the 2009 festival programme either as Single page or 2009 Program Book (approx 2.5Mb each .pdf).

What the press says about the 2009 event